Tre Rum & Kök’s history
The Hotell Kung Carl opened in 1866, making it Stockholm’s oldest hotel. The hotel was originally located on Brunkebergstorg, which can best be described as the Stureplan of its time.
Of Hotell Kung Carl’s many proprietors over the years, it was probably Annie Berg and her husband Olof Jönsson who left most of a mark on the establishment. As a young woman, Annie had travelled the world and worked as a maid in the English town of Winchelsea. She had also gained experience as the right-hand woman of hotel and restaurant entrepreneur Vilhelmina Skogh at Stockholm’s Grand Hôtel.
Together, Annie and Olof succeeded in establishing Kung Carl’s reputation as one of Stockholm’s most popular haunts of the cultural élite of the time. For example, diners at Kungen – as the restaurant was then known – included Karl Gerhard, August Strindberg and Hjalmar Söderberg, together with many other great names from the early 20th century.
The hotel was forced to close with the outbreak of the First World War, and it was not until 1925 that it reopened in new premises on Stureplan. Unfortunately there was not enough room for a restaurant, and it was only in 2004 that Kung Carls Bakficka was able to open on Norrlandsgatan. A new concept has now been unveiled to mark the restaurant’s 10th anniversary.
The inspiration draws on influences from the early 1900s and hotel proprietor Annie Berg’s home, previously part of the hotel’s premises. It is her orangery, library, kitchen and pantry that have inspired Bakfickan’s individual rooms and the name Kung Carls Bakficka – Tre Rum & Kök.